You are currently viewing ‘You haven’t won’ – Darts player ignored handshake after rival’s embarrassing mistake

‘You haven’t won’ – Darts player ignored handshake after rival’s embarrassing mistake

  • Post category:Sports News
Share this

The 2015 World Darts Championship witnessed a moment Joe Murnan would likely prefer to forget. 

When facing Andy Hamilton, a seasoned PDC competitor known for his consistent scoring, Murnan found himself in a tense first-round clash. 

For reasons unknown, Murnan became confused about the rules

Hamilton, who had never before faced an early exit in this prestigious tournament, was pushed to the very edge of his limits. 

As the match reached a climactic tie-break, Hamilton narrowly missed a pivotal 170 checkout, a rare misstep for ‘The Hammer.’ 

Seizing the opportunity, Murnan expertly secured the set with a sharp double 10.

But then came the moment of disbelief. 

Inexplicably, as the tie-break pressed on, Murnan lost track of the rules. 

Despite his wealth of experience, which spanned from his early days in the BDO to his later transition into the PDC, he suffered a blunder. 

After winning a single leg, Murnan prematurely celebrated, pumping his fists and offering his hand to Hamilton. 

Hamilton, aware of the two-leg requirement, left Murnan’s hand hanging, a moment of awkwardness that filled the arena.

A wave of disbelief and amusement swept across Alexandra Palace. 

Murnan’s expression was one of utter shock as the crushing reality struck him – he needed to win another leg. 

A pitying smirk crossed Hamilton’s face when he realised Murnan’s mistake

Hamilton, in a moment that mingled sympathy with mild amusement, offered a subtle, almost pitying smirk.

Meanwhile, the commentator, as he watched a replay, added: “No, no. You haven’t won, Joe.”

Despite the sting of this humiliating experience, Murnan summoned his composure. 

He refocused, fought his way to secure the vital two-leg advantage with a double eight, and, with a hint of sheepishness, shook Hamilton’s hand. 

This hard-won victory, though a testament to his skill, will forever carry the shadow of that spectacularly mistimed celebration. 

As Hamilton, whose PDC career was marked by a World Championship final appearance and consistent high-level performances, departed, Murnan was left to reflect on a triumph overshadowed by an unforgettable moment of self-inflicted embarrassment.

Share this